Bittersweet Love Songs - - Cher Photos, Music, Tour & Tickets

Bittersweet Love Songs


1. Greatest Song I Ever Heard

1. By Myself
2. I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
3. Am I Blue
4. How Long Has This Been Going On?
5. Man I Love
6. Jolson Medley: Sonny Boy/My Mammy/Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Mel
7. More Than You Know
8. Why Was I Born?
9. Man That Got Away
10. What’ll I Do?
11. Long and Winding Road
12. Greatest Song I Ever Heard
13. David’s Song
14. It Might as Well Stay Monday (From Now On)
15. Don’t Try to Close a Rose
16. He’ll Never Know
17. Way of Love

Due to the success of Cher’s solo torch spots on “The Sonny & Cher Comedy Hour” like “My Funny Valentine” and “What a Difference a Day Makes”, Bono decided she should record an album featuring modern arrangements of standards from the 1920s, 1930s and 1940s.

Bittersweet White Light was a collection of fully orchestrated, lushly-arranged classics. Producer Bono had started in the music business working with legendary “Wall of Sound” producer Phil Spector and the album clearly demonstrates Spector’s influence. Songs in the record range from Gershwin tunes “How Long Has This Been Going On?” and “The Man I Love” to Al Jolson’s “Sonny Boy” to Judy Garland’s “The Man That Got Away” to Duke Ellington’s “I Got It Bad and That Ain’t Good”. The album was promoted on her successful “The Sonny & Cher Comedy Hour” show. The title of the album was reported to be taken from the staging of such songs on her television show—which she performed in front of a torch spotlight. Bittersweet White Light was also the first of Cher’s album’s to feature medleys, “Jolson Medley”, and with track mixed, “How Long Has This Been Going On” with “The Man I Love” and “Why Was I Born” with “The Man That Got Away”. The other albums that got tracks mixed together were Take Me Home and Prisoner.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (6 votes cast)
Bittersweet Love Songs, 10.0 out of 10 based on 6 ratings

previous next