1. Skin Deep Remix

1. I Found Someone
2. We All Sleep Alone
3. Bang-Bang
4. Main Man
5. Give Our Love A Fightin’ Listen
6. Perfection
7. Dangerous Times
8. Skin Deep
9. Working Girl
10. Hard Enough Getting Over You

Five years after the release of Cher’s last album I Paralyze and her decision to focus on a film career, Cher signed with Geffen Records (which would later absorb one of her former labels, MCA Records) and was rushed to the studio to record what would become her comeback album. The self-titled album Cher was released in the fall of 1987. The record was produced by Michael Bolton, Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora and Desmond Child. Among the notable guest artists, Bonnie Tyler and Darlene Love were backing vocalists on “Perfection”.

After a series of pop and disco records, Cher moved to a radio-friendly rock sound, which helped her get back onto the charts. The album includes a new version of her 1966 hit “Bang Bang (My Baby Shot Me Down)”, Michael Bolton’s “I Found Someone” (originally written for and recorded by Laura Branigan), several songs written by Desmond Child and two by Diane Warren, who would go on to write many more songs for the singer. The album reached #26 in the UK, and peaked at #32 on the US Billboard album charts.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.7/10 (35 votes cast)
Cher, 9.7 out of 10 based on 35 ratings

previous next